Alltag
Arbeit
Computer und Software
Das Leben
Die Welt ist schlecht
Kinder
Kunst
Meta
Mobilität
Politik
Science!
Sommer
Sport
Stadt und Land
Umwelt
Unterhaltung
... weitere
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren
The Grove
There and back again

     
Fiddeling around with PhpGedView over the holidays, I stumbled upon the question if my php5-installation supported sqlite3.

PhpGedView works with several database backends, sqlite among others. I prefer sqlite, despite mysql is running on my box.
After installing PhpGedView 4.1 I had a problem with one of the information boxes on the welcome page, apparently a known bug.

Obviously PhpGedView makes use of SQL commands that are not supported by the used sqlite version, but only with sqlite version 3.2.6 (count (distinct expr)). Ok, sounds like an easy one, I thougt, and installed sqlite3 on my debian box (ok, a contradiction: debian and easy upgrade, I spare you with the details of the upgrade - webservers are running again, imap still down).

But as I learned: no difference, the error was still there.
After long research, I think I know what the problem is:
- PhpGedView uses the Pear-DB database abstraction layer
- Pear DB supports only sqlite2, even if sqlite3 is available (cross check: install sqlite3, uninstall sqlite2 => PhpGedView not working any longer)

There seems to be a solution für Pear::DB with the php-sqlite3-package, but the project claims it is still alpha software...

So this path of solution has come to an end for me.
Pragmatic solution could be to bugfix PhpGedView or to disable certain functions in case of sqlite-usage.

But then, I have there an installation of 4.1.1 where the error seems to be gone, while 4.1.6, the latest stable version breaks. More research to come.

Stay tuned...
 

twoday.net AGB

xml version of this page

powered by Antville powered by Helma

kostenloser Counter